G. Singh: Guruji Pranam We are a staunch follower of our eternal holy vedas and perform the “Nitya Karm Vidhi” according to Adarsh Nitya Karm Vidhi book.We would like to know the proper way of Oum Jap and for how long we have to do it?When we concentrate on our Aagya Chakra then we find it difficult to concentrate. How can we improve the concentration?.How to jap Gayatry Mantra and how long? We ourselves and the whole Bharat must be proud of you who is spreading the true importance of our Holy Vedas and Sanatan Vedic Dharma to the humanity.
Swami Ram Swarup: My blessings to you. Your deed is appreciated of performing daily Yajyen according to Vedas.

The proper way of doing Om Jaap is actually learnt in presence of an acharya. So, please either come here or seek any learned acharya of Vedas, locally for the same. However, In this regard, I paste my article below:-

Concentration is improved when an aspirant learns Ashtang Yoga Philosophy or starts learning from asan, prannayam, pratyahar and dharnna. Then, as a result, concentration i.e., to do meditation becomes very simple. At this stage, the aspirant can also concentrate on any worldly matter and gets success.


Your question is a question relevant for all aspirants of the world. In Bhagwad Geeta chapter 6, it is stated-

When Yogeshwar Sri Krishna Maharaj asks Arjun to concentrate himself in God by stopping all his chitta vrittis i.e., (faculty which receives knowledge from five senses and passes the same to intellect, is called Chitta and Chitta stores the effect of various karmas to be faced by soul in future at a proper time) which are always attached with worldly materialistic articles, affairs, happening and illusion etc., then in turn Arjun replies vide Bhagwad Geeta shloka 6/34 that Oh! Krishna, the mind (mann) is unstable/fickle/unsteady and always remains indulged in thinking about unlimited matters of the world. It is very strong. Therefore, it is very difficult to control the mind like it is extremely difficult to control air in space. When Krishna heard the answer, in reply, adorable Krishna maharaj said that Oh! Arjun, no doubt, mann is unsteady/fickle and it is very difficult to control but there are two eternal and steadfast ways to control it. One is (Abhyas) practice and second is asceticism (Vairagya). So one must do practice of name jaap, yajyen, make contact with learned sant to learn the same. No doubt, it is very difficult to do the said practice but according to Vedas, shastras and other holy granths, it is also an eternal truth that it is quite impossible that without said practice no one can control the mann. In this connection, Guru bani also states-

“Jup Tup Sanjam Niyam Na Kamaya,

Sadh Sangat Na Jana Hari Raya,

Kaho Nanak Hum Neech Karma

Sharnna Pade ki Rakho Sarma.”

You can again send your question if more details are required or of the concepts are not clear, please.

Please, start the day by chanting Gayatri mantra in the early morning sitting on suitable asan like Sukhasan, Siddhasan or Padmasan etc. concentrate on the point between two eyebrows which is called “Agyachakra”. The Gayatri mantra should be chanted along with its meaning both times. Also, please try to perform daily hawan even with Gayatri mantra. Then try to study any of my books daily and put up question if any.

After 15 days chant the Gayatri mantra only thrice thereafter do the name jaap of Almighty God-“Om”. The jaap must be done daily by heart and not orally.

You may use kushasan if available there or chatai (mat) on the ground. On the chatai (mat) cotton quilt and thereafter on cotton quilt, cotton bed sheet can be put. Purpose of chatai, cotton sheet etc., is to break the earthing of electricity/heat generated in the body while doing asan, prannayam and meditation, chatai being bad conductor of heat.

The best asan nowadays is a blanket folded twice, then cover it with a cotton cloth. The asan must be on the ground and not on the bed.

Yet, if you are unable to understand the method of doing Om jaap, you may write to me again, then I would prepare VCD regarding preaching of Om jaap.

Again my blessings to you for long, happy life.

Rajesh: Can u pls tell in details of 84 lakhs of yonis or pls mail the website which contains in details of yonis?
Swami Ram Swarup: To quote 84 lakh yonis is not possible, please. However, in the holy granth it is preach that four main Yonis i.e., Undaj, Garbhaj, Udbhij and Swedaj exist. In this regard, I paste my article below:-

Rebirth and different yonis

Idea of Yajurveda mantra 39/6 is that after leaving the human body, the soul goes to several matters in the space etc., and then according to good or bad deeds takes next birth. Yajurveda mantra 39/7 states that those souls who do sins they take birth with violent nature like wolves, bear and those who give fear to others in human body, they take birth in body with dangerous nature like crocodiles, poisonous snakes, tigers, lions, wild boars etc., those who give fear to others, they will be of timid nature also like rabbits, deer etc. Those who give justice and make others fearless, they will take next birth in a fearless nature. Those who are indulged in illusion, they will take birth in a place where the atmosphere will be full of illusion (Yajurveda mantra 40/3 also refers).

Those who are learned Yogis but are not yet attained salvation, they will take next birth in a place where there will not be any illusion but divine enlightenment. Those who have not controlled their five senses, five perceptions and mind then in the next birth they will be of restless nature. But those who have controlled their senses etc., will be of calm, peaceful nature. Those who have followed eternal knowledge, they will also be of peaceful nature in the next birth.

Atharvaveda mantra 9/10/16 states that those who are not learned in this birth, they will get the birth as “sthavar” rooted plants etc., as birds and as animals etc., and those who are learned they take next birth as rishi-munis. So the soul based on his sins or pious deeds takes birth in upper class or lower class. The above said Atharvaveda mantra also states that the soul in the human body knows each and everything that is each outer matter of the world but due to involvement in illusion, soul does not know himself.

As Manusmriti states in shlok 1/43-46 the soul according to deeds takes birth as animal, non-violent deer etc., carnivores like tiger, leopards etc., devils, human beings. The said are of “jarayuj” type i.e., those who take birth from their skin i.e., tissue. Soul takes birth as “undaj” type i.e., those who hatch from eggs like birds, snakes, crocodiles, fish, tortoise, etc. Soul takes birth in “Swedaj” type i.e., those who take birth from sweat, humidity, moisture, for-example, lice, mosquitoes, flies, bed-bugs, etc.

Soul also takes birth in Udbhij i.e., who takes birth from within the earth like plants who emerge from seeds etc., and are stable at one place like trees etc. So there are four above quoted main origin (yonis) of which the total number comes as 84 lakhs.

P K Mohanty: I am desirous to attend the yoga classes or Yajna or study of Vedas.

Swami Ram Swarup: My blessings to you.

You are welcome here, main vedas and Yoga teaching starts every year from 2nd week’s Sunday of April month to 2nd week’s Sunday of June.

Yet, the person who desires to learn Vedas and Yoga may fix his schedule with me and after its approval, they are welcome here.